Photography Shenanigans: Conceptual

Wow, I haven’t done a Shenanigans segment in quite awhile. But last month I attended a conceptual photography workshop held by Jenna Martin Photography which blew my photographic mind. The surreal quality of work that goes on in that type of conceptual photography is way beyond what my journalisticly centered skills usually focus on. Doing anything beyond curves, color balance and other darkroom basics in Photoshop is a pretty big no-no for us (see: World Press Photo controversies 2012 and 2013, and also the Pulitzer Prize-winning photographer fired from the AP). She said she spends upwards of 80 hours in Photoshop on one piece! I don’t think I’ve ever spent 80 hours on anything…

Anywho, I decided I’d give something completely different a try and did a whole day of shooting with some friends to see what would happen. Below is the first one I’ve finished. Hopefully there will be more to come, but it is slow going.

Linky links:

These movie theaters are beautiful.

This black-light series is beautiful.

This fish are beautiful!

Books

Leave a Reply

